September 4, 2012

Otago & Southland Plans

Chairman Matthew Jack reports that the Otago & Southland RSCM NZ Branch Annual General Meeting was held on 25 July 2012 at Opoho Presbyterian Church.

It was a golden opportunity to view past activities and look to the exciting future.

The AGM was a follow up to an informal meeting held 25 May 2012 to brief at the time the newly appointed Branch Chairman, Revd Dr Matthew Jack.

A higlight ahead is a possible Service commemorating the 60th Anniversary of Queen Elizabeth’s accession to the throne.

The following officers were elected.  Chairman, Revd Dr Matthew Jack is appointed by RSCM HQ UK and continues in this role.

A new role was created combining the duties of Treasurer and Secretary: Mark Hughes takes up the position.

Other Committee Members elected at the AGM include: Father Michael Wallace, Branch Chaplain, David Burchell, Alan Edwards, Fr. David Crooke, George Chittenden, and Verna McKenzie.

It was proposed that a Southland member be sought for appointment as Regional Representative on the committee.

Summer School “Renew” was commended to members: it is to be held  6 to 13 January 2013 in Christchurch at historic College House (founded in 1875).

The contribution of Advisors (previously known as Commissioners) Bruce Aitken and Michael McConnell was acknowledged and their continuance in this supportive role was confirmed.

~   ~   ~